×
Menu
Index

How To Setup Backup Workstation

Instrumental in the success of a live multi-media event is to have a backup solution for many of the supporting systems involved. This tutorial outlines the steps you always need to take to make one workstation simply act as a direct backup to a primary and be ready to take over if necessary.
 
NOTE: Since so much about the setup of a backup node relies on you fully understanding your network and the role it plays here. We strongly recommend you first review the following topics:

 
For this tutorial, we are going to assume you have already established a proper network topology and are able to successfully pass files between nodes.
 
1) First Setup exactly matching show folders on both machines. This means all sub folders, as well as the drive letter, should also the same. It is recommended that the folder be directly under the “C” drive. If you want to use something like the Desktop to house the folder, then either be logged in to both computers with the exact same user ID and/or make sure that the appropriate permissions are set to share those user folders on the network.
 
2) On at least the primary, add the events media file that you already have.
 
3) Now let’s start with getting the backup workstation ready and standing by:
 
 
  
   a) Launch AV-Playback and at the Launch Control and assign the show folder as the Default File Store”.
   
   b) Select the “Default Audio Device” appropriate for your current setup.
   
   c) Go into the AV-Sync group box and make sure “Auto Launch Hub” is unchecked.
      
   d) Now check “Is Backup”. If this is blacked out, you will need to un-check “Is Primary” first.
  
   e) Next select 2 as the workstation index.
  
   f) (Optional) If you wish to have all play commands delayed, go ahead and set the amount now.
  
   g) If you are setting up for a new show go ahead and open a brand-new playlist.
  
   h) Once it is open go ahead and assign your display output if necessary.
 
4) You can now leave this workstation alone and go over to the primary.
 
5) Here you follow many of the same steps except make sure you check “Is Primary” Also make sure that the index is set to 1 and delay is 0.
   
6) Now you can launch either a brand-new playlist or one you have already created.
 
NOTE: The playlist filename you create needs to be identical on both the backup and primary.
 
7) Again, if creating a new playlist set the display output for the primary before continuing.
8) On the primary, you should see these buttons near the top right of the window , and this button on the backup unit.
 
9) No matter which machine you are on go ahead and click on either "Backup Available or "Backup Disconnected" this will engage an active connection between the two.
 
They now glow green signifying the connection. You can at anytime toggle either of these buttons to break and/or resume the link.
 
10) On the primary simply go ahead and add your media files to the playlist. As you add files, the backup will also be add the very same file automaticly.
 
If the media files are not already saved into the backup’s event folder then the backup will notify the primary, which in turn will begin to automatically transfer a copy onto the backup.
 
You should now wait until this process is completed before doing anything else.
 
Going forward from here:
From this point, most of the activities performed on the primary will be duplicated on the backup as well. This includes all program transport functions, (preview commands are not transferred.) and any individual property adjustments performed on all media elements.
 
There are however times when you may need to perform a forced update of the backup’s playlist. Like when loading on the primary, a preexisting playlist which does not exist already on the backup.
In this situation, you can, go ahead and create a new blank playlist on the backup unit then after loading the existing playlist on the primary go ahead and click this button that sits next to the “Backup Online” button.
 
At this point, the buttons will briefly glow yellow and you should see the backup unit reloading. Once done you are ready to go.
 
WARNING: Any time you perform a refresh backup all playback on both machines will stop and any selections for preview and program will be cleared.