×
Menu
Index

How To Setup Backup Workstation

Instrumental in the success of a live multi-media event is to have a backup solution for many of the supporting systems involved. This tutorial outlines the steps you always need to take to make one workstation simply act as a direct backup to a primary and be ready to take over if necessary.
 
NOTE: Since so much about the setup of a backup node relies on you fully understanding your network and the role it plays here. We strongly recommend you first review the following topics:

 
For this tutorial, we are going to assume you have already established a proper network topology and are able to successfully pass files between nodes.
 
1) First Setup exactly matching show folders on both machines. This means all sub folders, as well as the drive letter, should also the same. It is recommended that the folder be directly under the “C” drive. If you want to use something like the Desktop to house the folder, then either be logged in to both computers with the exact same user ID and/or make sure that the appropriate permissions are set to share those user folders on the network.
 
2) On at least the primary, add the events media file that you already have.
 
3) Now let’s start with getting the backup workstation ready and standing by:
    a) Launch AV-Playback and at the Launch Control and assign the show folder as the Default File Store”.
   
   b) Select the “Default Audio Device” appropriate for your current setup.
   
   c) Go into the AV-Sync group box and make sure “Auto Launch Hub” is unchecked.
      
   d) Now check “Is Backup”. If this is blacked out, you will need to un-check “Is Primary” first.
  
   e) Next select 2 as the workstation index.
  
    f) (Optional) If you wish to have all play commands delayed, go ahead and set the amount now.
  
    g) If you are setting up for a new show go ahead and open a brand-new playlist.
  
    h) Once it is open go ahead and assign your display output if necessary.
 
4) You can now leave this workstation alone and go over to the primary.
 
5) Here you follow many of the same steps except for on the primary you need “Auto Launch Hub” to be checked as well as “Is Primary” Also make sure that the index is set to 1 and delay is 0.
   
6) Now you can launch either a brand-new playlist or one you have already created.
 
NOTE: The playlist filename you create needs to be identical on both the backup and primary.
 
Incidentally, the AV-Sync Hub should have been launched and is showing both workstations in the connected list. Also, make sure the each reflect their correct workstation role.
If for some reason it did not launch, then you click on Utilities || Launch AV-Sync Hub menu item on the primary.
NOTE: If after launching the hub you do not see both workstations in its connection list, then something is wrong with your network. You will need to correct before continuing with this tutorial.
 
Again, if creating a new playlist set the display output for the primary before continuing.
 
On the primary, you should see the button at the bottom right of the playlist control glow either amber and read “Refresh Backup” or simply be gray and say, “Backup Online” this is normal.
Now on the primary go ahead and add the event media files to its playlist. All the files should have already been deposited into the default even folder.
NOTE: It is very important that when you add elements to the playlist, they all must come from the default event folder or any of its sub folders. If you pull from some other folder on the computer, the backup may not be able to find it properly on its end.
 
OK, now is a good time to perform any necessary edits to the media files on the primary.
Next, you can go ahead and click on the “Refresh Backup” button. At this point, AVP will transmit the playlist. The backup may now respond back with the fact that it does not have some or all needed media files. If that is the case the primary will pop up a dialog showing the progress of its automatic coping all missing files onto the backup’s assigned default show folder.
You should now wait until this process is completed before doing anything else.
 
Once complete you should now see all of the same playlist entries appear in the backup playlist and on the primary backup status button should now glow green and say, “Backup In Sync”.
 
Going forward from here:
Now that everything is connected and in sync, you only need to now enable the “Link to Sync Hub” on both computers. If the sync hub was launched successfully they should both glow red.
From this point, most of the activities performed on the primary will be duplicated on the backup as well. This includes all program transport functions, (preview commands are not transferred.) and any individual property adjustments performed on all media elements.
 
There are however some functions that will not be instantly mimicked on the backup unit until you perform a refresh. So, anytime you perform an action not handled automatically, the backup status button will turn yellow and read “Refresh Backup”. At this point, you would need to press the button to imitate the update.
WARNING: Any time you perform a refresh backup all playback on both machines will stop and any selections for preview and program will be cleared.
 
Here is the list of functions that require a manual refresh of the backup unit:
1) Adding or removing any media elements within the playlist.
2) Changing the list order (drag and drop) of any base or layer elements.
3) Changing either the video renderers or audio outputs.